//
you're reading...
poetry

kitten scratches

I am not your battered hardwood floor
anymore
I am not kitten scratches on softer parts of skin
I am not your queen in check
your empty stomach or the absence of your backbone
I am not the broken “i” on your typewriter
I am not your aching fist
I am not your bloodstained door
I am not the 4 white walls, bare bulb ceiling you call home
I am not your metaphor for a better life
I am not your fucking metaphor
anymore

I am not keeping time on your fathers broken pocket watch
I am not lost boy losing myself in fairy tales written by ghosts

I am not your mother’s medicine cabinet or husband’s billfold
I am not your ring finger or your empty womb once full
I am not your college education on mute
I am not your ego and inertia pressed to pulp
anymore
I am not your excuse for lack of
anymore

I am not your desperate smile in high heels
I am not your lonely night ritual on repeat
I am not your never was
I am not your in the way
I am not your competitive love affair

not anymore
and I never was
and I never was

and I
never was

About nicolemcfeely

let be be finale of seem

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Necessary Information

Past/Present/Future

June 2011
M T W T F S S
« Mar   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  
